I’m a judgemental jerk! And God is bigger than me! -or- Thinking about a different kind of command

Writing that post the other day was very therapeutic. It got me thinking about these things in a way that I don’t think I’ve ever done before.

Personally, I think it’d be wonderful if people posted comments about their own experiences of letting Christs teachings really and truly penetrate daily life.

This last weekend, I was faced with my own ugliness self-righteousness at most every turn. The one thing repeated over and over; God’s mercy and my lack of it. I judge and condemn people at every turn.

I’m very grateful that God shows us ourselves. I’m also grateful for the pictures that Christ gave us of what our Father’s heart is toward us, like the prodigal son. The prophets most certainly back up this story, that illustrates that what the Lord truly desires is a broken spirit and a contrite heart.

Basically, he simply wants us to get near Him, and stay near Him, and He will truly cover the rest.

I don’t want that fact to be missed in everything that I’m saying here. This is how it works, you get near God, God takes care of the rest.

I love that. I used to spend so much time kicking myself and desperately trying to get it right. (I still do sometimes) But the fact is, any good and miraculous thing that has happened at my hand has been solely His doing, and not mine. Click here for an example.

So, to sum up what I’m thinking here, I’m seeing more and more my lack of mercy and kindness. I’m seeing all over me an inability and lack of desire to bear with people and look for the best in them. I see that I’m a big jerk.

So what’s my response? I wanna get near my Lord. He’ll take care of it. His grace is sufficient. That’s not some cheap cliche’, it’s a true thing. I can cry out to Him, morning, noon and night, and He answers.

So today I was looking more at the teachings of Christ in the Sermon on the Mount, and came to Matthew 7:7-11.

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. Or what man is there among you who, when his son asks for a loaf, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, he will not give him a snake will he? If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask him!”

That’s a command… to ask. Now, I’m not talking about prosperity and such here. I’m talking about the power to overcome sin. I’m talking about the grace of God.

The statements above about myself are true. I’m a jerk. I don’t really want to deal with people. I don’t want to really follow through on problems and make peace. I’d prefer my own ways and to entertain myself when it really comes down to it… but in all of that, I am miserable. I’ve tasted the nearness of God, and I can’t stand to be without Him.

So I will ask. I will wake up today, and I will ask for help. I will tell Him how weak I am, and I will ask for Him to take over. And then I will praise him all day because our God is a good dad.

Have you ever taken the time to dwell on that, the fact that our God is a good dad? It’s worth thinking about. You can easily get caught up, both in looking at the teachings of Christ, as well as the old testament, in trying to get it right and follow these commands.

But the whole reason the Son was sent, is because the Father loves you! He sent the Son to give you power over sin and so that you would not be alone. Even when you think you’re rebelling, running away or blatantly ignoring the Father, He’s there, working in every turn of your life.

I love this command, the command to ask, and we’ll receive. There’s a whole lot more to this than what I’m saying here, but I’m going to stick with the point that I’m trying to make. What’s the point? That our God is a good God, who loves you and wants to give you all good things. (now, you may need some soul searching to understand what things are really ‘good’)

Later on I’m going to write about what that help often looks like…

Leave a Reply

