He called us His friend?

Like a beggar’s plea, held out hopelessly

Like shadows fade, as light falls away… I was going down

When You grabbed my hand

When you took the stand

I was alone… You came to me

You have loved me with everlasting love, You have called me Your friend

You have loved me with everlasting love, You have taken me in…

That’s yet another song by Enter the Worship Circle that I’ve had on my mind.  I’m feeling this theme from God lately, to pay attention. Even as I write this, I feel this need to urge everyone I see to fight the complacency, fight the meaninglessness of our words. Let everything mean something. Meaninglessness is a disease, and it’s plaguing so many of us every time that we look at the scriptures or sing a song of worship or praise.

Words flow out of our mouths as drivel, and hardly ever do they mean anything beyond the superficial.

So I’m challenging you here to fight to have these words mean something. They’re good news! Very good news! So, SLEEPERS WAKE UP!

You are my friends, if you do the things which I command you. No longer do I call you servants; for the servant does not know what his master is doing: but I have called you friends; for all things that I heard from my Father, I have made known to you.

That’s John 15:14-15… what a statement. Did you hear that? We’re called friends! We’ve been called friends of God!

That’s so awesome.

There’s a whole lot in that passage. There’s definitely a criteria there… we’ve got to do what He told us to do. Again, don’t breeze over these words.

To be honest, I don’t have anything more pointed than that to say. I’m His friend. He called me His friend. Could there be anything more important to write about?

It’s spring time and things are blooming and the air feels amazing and the breeze on my face… it just tells me that He loves me. And I want you to know it too.

So pay close attention to the things He’s saying left and right. Go outside in the spring breeze and read a psalm. Let it sink in and drive you to tears and rejoicing. Go ahead, feel His love.

Anyway… I’m just very very grateful that we have a God that calls us friend if only we turn to Him and walk with Him. It’s what we’re made to do… to be friends of God. I like that.

Leave a Reply

