37 seconds well used…

I’ll try and make this post length match the title…

the mutant stands in disbelief

Again I reference my favorite movie, Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium. I was watching it with my daughter Allie as she was sick yesterday. There was a part that struck me that hadn’t hit me this way before.

Mr. Magorium and Molly are in a clock store. They’ve set all of the clocks to 11:59 and are waiting for them all to ring at 12. Molly looks at Mr. Magorium, bright eyed with the excitement of a toddler and says, “Now, we wait.”

His reply, “No, we breathe. We pulse. We regenerate. Our hearts beat, our souls ingest. Thirty-seven seconds, well used, is a lifetime.”

She takes in these cryptic words from her mentor.

I took them in as well.

I don’t want to waste time.

A good chunk of life in Christ is waiting on Him. It’s imperative. In fact, it’s absolutely crucial and essential. There’s no way around it. It’s the first lesson; resting in Christ and letting Him do the work, and not you.

But does that mean you sit and do nothing? No, not one bit.

His statement above sends me to the scripture telling us that they that wait on the Lord shall renew their strength. It even says we’ll mount up with wings as eagles. That’s awesome!

I’m finding though, that this is an active waiting. There’s stuff to do while I wait. I don’t just check out. I breathe in deep the breath of God, watching, following, moving in Him while He does His amazing works.

The more that I live this way, the more that I see Him through the eyes of a child. In fact, the more that I live this way, the more I become a child. It’s wonderful. Actively setting your eyes on the Father and letting His wonder take over. He’ll do it all around you, it’ll be in every corner of everything that you look at.

You just have to show up, breathe it in, and follow along. May your adventure begin…


3 thoughts on “37 seconds well used…

Leave a Reply

