Giving our children snakes and stones!

Jesus showed us a few pictures of the way the Father deals with us, or better, the ways he doesn’t deal with us.

I think that a lot of times disciples can get a pretty messed up view of the ways the Father deals with us. We’ve had messed up Fathers, and we expect our heavenly Father to be just as messed up. (though we’d never say that out loud)

Like it or not, our experiences in this messed up and fallen world dramatically shape our view of our heavenly Father. We simply don’t have the ability, without His help, to see Him as He really is.

The wonderful thing is that Christ was the display of the Father’s nature. Christ came to show us clearly what the Father is like.

Anyway… here’s my tale

___

can you resist these big eyes?

Last night, I had a run in with my delightful 5-year-old. Adaryn is amazing. She’s so bright and quick witted. Simply put, she has a huge personality. But in that, she has the tendency to get too big too quick.

Well, last night, she got really big. She wanted to make some grown up decisions, and butted in to things that just weren’t her business. When she did this, I told her that this was not her decision.

I moved on… she did not.

As I tucked her in, she wouldn’t look me in the eye. She was very offended. I asked her what was wrong. She told me that she didn’t like me telling her that it wasn’t her decision.

I got very big, and she got terrified.

Once my wrath had been issued, Yvonne and I sat her down and we had a good little talk.

“Adaryn, we want you to be a little girl. We want you to enjoy being a little girl. Right now, I make the decisions, and you get to rest in that.”

All that she wanted was to be close to me. It’s like she couldn’t get close enough. You’d swear the sweet little thing was trying to climb up into my chest. Which is exactly where I want her to stay, right there… right in my heart.

I was ready for bed, so was she. So I let her lie down in the bed next to me, and she fell asleep with my hand on her tiny chest. It wasn’t just resting there, it was there with purpose, both being held by her, and me holding it there, so that she knew, really knew that I was there.

During all of this, something that Jesus said came to mind…

“…what man is there among you who, when his son asks for a loaf, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, he will not give him a snake will he? If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask Him?”

So I laid there with my hand on her, I realized that these are the moments the Father longs to have with me. If I, being evil, will go to these lengths for my child, to bring her near me and into my heart, how much more will the God and Father of all creation do?

I want to know this deeper. He’s a great dad that I can trust and rest in. I need not fight. It’s worth giving up the world to have His huge and comforting hand on my chest to make me still and bring me into His rest.

I suppose that I’ll leave it there for the time being.

I have encouraged her toward dirt!

Leave a Reply

