Everywhere I go I see You…

I love Rich Mullins so much… he really loved God.

When I read things he wrote and said, I have to admit, it chokes me up and I miss him and wish we still had him with us to keep giving us his passion and fire.

I was listening to this song this morning.

“I See You”

Lord, You’re leading me
With a cloud by day
And then in the night
The glow of a burning flame

And everywhere I go, I see You

And You take my hand
And You wash it clean
I know the promised land
Is light years ahead of me

And everywhere I go, I see You

Well, the eagle flies
And the rivers run
I look through the night
And I can see the rising sun

And everywhere I go, I see You

Well, the grass will die
And the flowers fall
But Your Word’s alive
And it will be after all

And everywhere I go, I see You

This song was inspired by Isaiah 40:8- The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever.

Praise God that this is true.

There is one thing, and one thing only to put hope in, and it is our God, that He is faithful, always, to complete the works that He begins.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how hard I push to get things done. I push when I write, make music, teach stuff to my kids… I’m always pushing. I’m extreme in everything that I do. It comes off as zeal and excitement, but it’s been occurring to me as of late that it is simply unbelief.

God will give me something, small, sweet and clear, and I’ll dress it up in all of my ideas to hand it to others, and I want them to understand… but the fact is, you cannot push the revelation of God.

God is God. Nothing can take the place of Him sprouting an idea in your heart. Nothing can rush His revelation.

I need to be quiet and faithful to what He’s given me, and not alter it one bit. He will do the work…

… I only need to follow.

2 thoughts on “Everywhere I go I see You…

  1. Ted Yoder

    John, thank you bro, I needed that today. I miss Rich really bad too. My kids listen to him all the time. But thank you for posting this and giving me something to look at other than myself.
    Shalom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

