Defenders of a Cheap Philosophy? -or- You mean… I Don’t Have to Defend You?

Pilate looks this Jesus over… What a pitiful man to be brought before him.

“Are You the king of the Jews?” He asks.

The beaten Christ looks up to the ruler, “Are you saying this on your own initiative, or did others tell you about me?”

Pilate, indignant, “I am not a Jew, am I?  Your own nation and the chief priests handed you over to me; what have you done?”

Christ’s reply, “My kingdom is not of this world.  If My kingdom were of this world, then My servants would be fighting so that I would not be handed over to the Jews; but as it is, My kingdom is not of this realm. “

A thought occurred to me today that sort of shook me and comforted me all at once;

You see, for a while now I’ve been growing very weary with debate of pretty much any kind.  It’s wearisome.  To be clear, I’m not talking about discussing things or working things through with a friend… I’m talking about blatant arguing over mindsets and philosophies.

So many times we spend time talking and thinking about our ‘religion’ as though it were a mere philosophy… a philosophy that we happened to pick among the spiritual buffet that presents itself to the world.  But I think we negate our God by doing so.

This so-called religion and philosophy, sought us out and pulled us out.  I didn’t pick it, it picked me.

so…

Hello world, my name is John Cullimore.  I’m a spiritual child of Abraham.  Just like him, I was called out of a horrid society that produces death and destruction.  I was snatched out by my hair by a loving God who desperately wanted me by His side.

And just like Abraham, God, the almighty told me to leave my country, my people and my father’s house and go to the land that He would show me.

Now, this isn’t because God doesn’t like my country, my people and my father’s household… it’s quite the contrary.  It’s because He loves them dearly.  And one by one, He sings His beautiful and haunting song and calls us into a greater kingdom, that Kingdom that Christ was talking about in the passage above.

In fact, for thousands of years He’d been trying to get the attention of all men… and in His mighty love, He took His very thoughts and love (what the Greeks called The Logos) and wrapped it in flesh so that He could actually walk around and talk with us, to show us what He really looked like, because men had misunderstood His heart for so long.

And He even went beyond that…

He walked around, teaching about this amazing Kingdom that transcends all nations, races, and creeds, and that we were all so infinitely valuable to Him that He would go all the way to a brutal death to demonstrate that love.  Then He defeated death itself.  He laughed in it’s face.  It no longer has a sting for us.  It’s just another passage.

This world is brutal; filled with sickness, hate, violence and strife.  But just like Him, His Kingdom turns the very darkness to light.

This is why I say, it’s no philosophy that I speak of.  This is everything.  This is the nature of life itself; the world has been infested with a disease and the Kingdom is the cure.  There is no higher call.

If you’ve tasted it, if you’ve heard the mighty Lion sing His sweet song, answer to it.

I think of the disciple Peter, the way he reacted as Christ was being taken away by soldiers.  He drew his sword to fight but Christ stopped Him.  The Kingdom will not be taken by that sort of force.  If that is the case, I believe that we’ve been engaging in the wrong sort of battles for far too long.

Let me say this bluntly… we’ve been waging war in the world of words, in a culture where words are cheap and excessive.  We’ve been suffering and inflicting the violence that in no way sets us apart from the world, nor does it do anyone any good.

I am a child of a new race, and I do not live for this world. I AM CHRIST’S AND CHRIST’S ALONE.

Fellow believers; sit before the Father.  Take in His glory.

You don’t have to defend Him, you only need to live your life as one truly reborn in Him, side by side with others who have been reborn, and you’ll change the world around you.

My friend Shammah wrote a post the other day on 1st Thes 4:11 that I think started my mind thinking in this direction.

“But we urge you, brethren, to excel still more, and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands, just as we commanded you, so that you will behave properly toward outsiders and not be in any need.”

We are not in any way, EVER, called to defend our God, as though He was part of some cheap philosophy.  We are called to live a life worthy of His glory.

So be still, take in the glory of God.  Take a few minutes to meditate and praise Him that you, like Abraham, were called.  And live a life worthy of this call.

I’ll go further with this over the next couple of days.

One thought on “Defenders of a Cheap Philosophy? -or- You mean… I Don’t Have to Defend You?

Leave a Reply

