It’s the End of the World As We Know It (and I feel fine)

Last night my good friend here in my house was having a hard time.

I didn’t know what was wrong, and it wasn’t a great time to talk. (kiddos were everywhere)

So, I broke out chocolate truffles, my buddy Logan got her an icy cold beer out of my fridge, and then we turned on some ridiculously loud music.

Now, there were certain teens in the vicinity looking forward to a movie. But I knew that my friend needed to dance and play first. There’s always movie time. We needed dance time. And the kiddos had all sorts of Christmas candy energy to burn.

I knew what would really get us dancing… REM.

I hadn’t listened to them in FOREVER! I turned on ‘It’s the end of the world as we know it’ and cranked it up sooooo loud. It was wonderful. My friends eyes lit up. She grabbed the kids and they spun and twirled and jumped and bounced. I watched for a while, then had to join in to. Logan and I sang at the top of our lungs.

All of the tension had drifted away. She was twirling and playing like a little kid before her God.

And the teens… well, they watched in horror. (but that’s not all that abnormal)

It was great.

It got me thinking, “Man, that’s a great song.”

There’s not enough songs about the world falling apart and dancing and playing in the midst of it.

Things will inevitably fall apart and be messy. This world is so messed up. Day to day life is so very messed up. Our emotions lie to us, and are so messed up. But there is something so very powerful about dancing in the midst of it all.

Andrew Peterson has a song on his new album called ‘Dancing in the Minefields’ that is similar. (though much more romantic) Youtube it, the video will break your heart and give you hope. It’s wonderful.

I want to learn how to dance harder. I want to learn that in the midst of this junk that we face, to turn the music up louder, lift my hands high and praise my Father who loves us so very much.

Dancing and praising in the chaos defies your soul and tells it to “Hush, be still… know that He is God!” It trains us to see things differently.

Moment by moment, the world as we know it is ending…

You feelin fine?

4 thoughts on “It’s the End of the World As We Know It (and I feel fine)

  1. Pingback: My Girl Wants to Party all the Time « Drunken Mystic

Leave a Reply

