Eyes Wide Open

As of late I’ve been smitten with the new Jars Of Clay album, ‘The Shelter.’ It’s a seriously convicting batch of songs from a band that I haven’t often given much time or attention to. But these songs have really grabbed my heart.

Song after song is laden with the conviction that we are in fact made by God, for each other. Each and every one of us has what the other needs. God has made us to be one.

One particular song has really gripped me though. It’s called ‘Eyes Wide Open.’ The song is refreshingly honest, and it’s an honesty that we need.

The truth is- We fight God all the time.

We want our way, our comforts…

We want to convince ourselves that we’re ‘believers’ or ‘disciples’ or even the big ‘c’ word, ‘Christians.’ The fact is, we’ve got to measure ourself against the one and only, the Christ himself.

We have a serious lack of belief. We walk around with faith that can barely move pebbles, let alone mountains. We don’t have lack. We get what we want when we want it. We are a culture that barely needs God, let alone wants him meddling in our cozy lives.

Here’s a good question to ask ourselves- “How can we live in a way that invites the Spirit of God to be with us?” I heard about someone asking this yesterday, and it really caught my attention.

So I’ve got to honestly ask myself- “Am I serious about being near God? If I am, then what is in my way?”

Is there anything worth having in the way? Is there any pleasure, delight, comfort, that can compare to knowing the maker and lover of your very soul?

So here’s the lyrics to this song I mentioned… it’s a conversation with God. Think good and hard on it, and if you’re up for it, pray along with it.

Talk to me, ’cause I’ve been talking to myself, Help me get these thoughts out of my own head

I don’t believe, most days I don’t believe, Mercy is true, it’s hard to live with the things I do

So God, bruise the heels we’ve dug in the ground that we might move closer to love

And pull out the roots we’ve dug in so deep, finish what You started… help us to believe

Keep our eyes wide open (love is kind and love is daring, everything we need to keep our eyes wide open…)

We can’t go on, it seems this conversation’s done, it’s so hard to win these fights and love you at the same time

So take my hands till grace makes her way to bend, till the things I’ve set to ruin only lead to my own end

So God, bruise the heels we’ve dug in the ground that we might move closer to love

And pull out the roots we’ve dug in so deep, finish what You started… help us to believe

Keep our eyes wide open (love is kind and love is daring, everything we need to keep our eyes wide open…)

Draw us in, send us out…

Draw us in, pour us out…

Help us to believe

One thought on “Eyes Wide Open

  1. transientglory

    I didn’t realize you wrote something about this CD or song. That’s my favorite. Becky and I were just listening to it tonight in the car. Every song has lyrics that can’t be ignored. I’m having the hardest time lately getting my heels out of the ground I’ve dug.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

