Psalm 63 -or- My flesh squirms

“Oh God, you are my God; I shall seek you earnestly; my soul thirsts for you, my flesh yearns for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.

Thus I have seen you in the sanctuary, to see your power and your glory.

Because your lovingkindness is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live; I will lift up my hands in your name.” Psalm 63:1-4

Lately I’ve been listening to the audio book of Francis Chan’s “Crazy Love.” If this book doesn’t convict you, then you’re completely numb. But it doesn’t simply convict, it inspires.

Chan has a knack for helping us step back and look at the whole of our lives and ask, “Am I a Christian? Do I really love God?”

The squirming fact is, however, for most of us, the answer would be a resounding no… especially when we compare ourselves to the standards Christ set up.

Truth be known, we’re chubby, lazy, and more rich than we can imagine. Our spiritual poverty and depravity are tremendous. And we think we ‘love’ God.

I’m not feeling condemned here, I’m feeling inspired. Because God’s mercy is new every day. I repeat, His mercies are new every day!

But Mr. Chan quoted that passage in the book, and used it to compare our mentalities to those of David. God set David up to be a hero of sorts; perhaps an icon of what it will look like when we follow God with abandon and zeal. David blew it, left an right, and David came to the Father on his knees, and made it right… over and over.

But in this passage, Psalm 63 we hear David crying out from his very being.

These words are used in many contemporary worship songs too… we’ve heard these. But do we own them?

I believe that it’s a valuable question to ask ourselves. “Are these 4 verses an accurate picture of my relationship to the Father?”

If the answer is no- there’s still daylight left.

Think about it- is there really anything more important than this? Is there anything else worth having other than the presence and hope that only the Almighty God himself can bring?

No- there’s nothing. There is nothing else.

I want my very flesh to cry out for his presence.

I want everything within me to seek him earnestly.

I want to love God like David did… after all- God has loved me so much.

Leave a Reply

