Inspired by. . . Elmo?

Yes, you read that right. The little red monster that has plagued so many of us. The same one that I’ve wished death upon. Yes, him. This little guy has become a new muse for this big guy and his girls.

The other day we stumbled across the documentary, “Becoming Elmo” and I can say without a doubt that it is completely delightful. Mock me as you will, Kevin Clash, the infamous voice behind the monster is a good man worth learning from.

So, set your cynicism aside and watch the first ten minutes on Netflix… then tell me how you enjoyed the last hour and a half.

Needless to say, watching this movie brought up some fun things with the kids. In light of yesterday’s post, here’s something that we’re doing to give to others and try out some fun ideas that could easily make people smile.

We want to do puppets too! It was so fun watching the clips of young Kevin playing with kids with special needs and so forth, just pouring out the love and creativity that God had given him. And oh man, when you see him being Elmo, his face is just so kind and sweet.

My girls were enthralled. They are so excited about the possibility of doing things like this. I can’t imagine the stories and scenarios that they’ll come up with.

So here’s how we’re starting:

One thing that the movie made clear is that if you want to do this, you can! And that really encouraged me. So, to check this out, and see if the kids will really run with this we’re going to get started budget style.

I hit the thrift stores on my lunch break and picked up 7 stuffed animals for $8.90. I also picked up the new Muppet movie that came out this morning for further inspiration. (this is education, right?)

Tonight we’re gonna hunker down and each pick a stuffed animal to disembowel and turn into glorious little puppet friends. I’ve picked out a particularly somber looking bear for myself.

If and when these projects are completed, I will post pics of our new friends.

I found countless resources for doing this in a few different ways. I personally think that this will be a lot of fun and give the kids a chance to harness some silliness.

Think about it; puppets are a great chance to channel that youthful silliness into a creative venture where it’s okay to be a wacky, zany nutbar.

Yes, if my evil theory is correct, I will harness the power of childhood silliness and unleash it through puppetry and art!!!! mwahahahahahahahahHUhaahauha

…sorry…

I really think that my little ones could do a lot to make other little ones smile (and maybe even some adults), and I’m excited to walk hand in hand with them in finding out how.

2 thoughts on “Inspired by. . . Elmo?

  1. Nichole Pockrus

    How exciting! Tabitha has been in love with puppets for years now. She has made several herself. She even has a little puppet theater to put on shows. Can’t wait to see what you guys come up with!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

