Failure as a companion…

So, a friend of mine posted this comic/blog on Facebook the other day.

Be Friends With Failure

It’s very, very well written. I was very encouraged by it. So much so that I showed it to my kids.

But I’ve been thinking on it this morning, and there’s a lot of this that I just don’t live out. If left unchecked, I will tend to desire to be treated with mercy, but to demand perfection from others.

I don’t think that it’s just me. I believe that many of us feel this.

I can’t presume to understand everyone else’s hearts. But I have to look at my own. Both in the way that I parent, and the way that I manage the office I work at.

Am I friends with Failure?

Can I be cool with the reality of the learning curve?

Real and lasting success, in anything, doesn’t come by force and violence, but by dedication and hard work. Maybe you can argue that, but I can’t.

Even in my parenting, I’m finding more and more that it’s much easier to lead my kids with fear than building a deep bond and relationship with them that will guard their hearts from wanting to do what is wrong.

The violence of spanking will deter them for a bit. But the bond of relationship will guard and guide them even when I’m not around. They want to protect that. But the easy way, introducing violence into the relationship on a regular basis is just as “the world” does things.

I was reading an NT Wright commentary on the book of James this morning, he mentioned being *friends* with the world, the violent ways that they go about everything. Not mere physical violence, but violence of the mind, soul, heart, oppression… you name it. The world governs by violence, and it will always amp up the violence to have its way.

But Christ’s way is not so. He governs by atonement… drawing us close and bridging gaps.

Do I do this in others?

Do I consider them precious?

Do I delight in them, letting them know that I truly value them and do not want my life to be without them?

If I can’t say yes, then I have no business correcting them, and I have no humility.

Let me restate that… If I don’t need the people around me, if they’re just functions that are disposable, I am an arrogant, blind man.

So, lots of questions here for the purpose of soul searching. It’s good stuff…

Here’s a parting quote:

“ You can employ men and hire hands to work for you, but you will have to win their hearts to have them work with you. ”

— William J.H. Boetcker

I wrote a song for my kids along these lines. It’s called Smile. (it’s a loud one) But it’s my prayer for how I’d like to build and build my relationship with not only my girls, but everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

