phone addiction and indie rock for kids!

So, I’m at lunch with my 11-year-old today… and I keep having that urge to check facebook and such. I hate it. It’s really nagging at me lately. I don’t want my life run by that bossy little device. 

So, I came up with a tune, my wife even joined in and wrote a verse. It’s called “Daddy’s Bossy Friend” … and though, when you just read the lyrics it may seem tragic, wait until you hear the music and see the video we’re undoubtedly going to make for this. It’ll be great. 

But here’s the lyrics 

My mama’s got this bossy bossy friend

Their time together just never seems to end

Night or day he never seems to go away

Taking pictures and recording all the cute things that I say

 

When we’re talking he always interrupts

When out to dinner he always interrupts

When reading stories he always interrupts

I really hope his battery dies

 

Daddy’s got his own bossy friend too

When his friend is by his side then he will hardly look at you

But now and then she will hide and go away

And then we all have join in and hunt for her all day

 

When we’re walking she always interrupts

When we’re driving she always interrupts

In the movies she always interrupts

I really hope his battery dies

 

whether we’re sitting in front of the TV

In Church or in the store it’s always quite sight to see

It’s hard to get my daddy to turn and look at me

When his phone is in his hand

 

When his phone is in his hand, It’s always making such unreasonable demands

When her phone is in her face, it’s like she goes to outer space

 

I’m looking at this shiny little thing

It rings and flashes, beeps and sings

In my hands, maybe now I’ll understand

If I’ll push ALL of the buttons and do everything I can

 

When you’re talking I really want my turn

When we’re out to dinner I really want my turn

Read me stories later, I just really want my turn

Don’t let the battey die

 

Now you can watch whatever you want on TV

In church or in the store I’ll be quiet as can be

I doubt I’ll even notice if you turn and look at me

When your phone is in my hand

 

Turn off the phone and play with me

It’s time to turn off the phone and read to me

It’s time to turn off the phone and snuggle while I’m home

Blink an eye and I might be grown

 

Leave a Reply

